Congressional Arts Caucus Welcomes Arts Advocates to Washington For Arts Advocacy Day

Mar 25, 2014

WASHINGTON – Today, Representatives Louise Slaughter (D-NY) and Leonard Lance (R-NJ), Co-Chairs of the Congressional Arts Caucus, welcome non-profit arts advocates from across the country to Capitol Hill as they prepare to discuss the importance of federal arts programs with Members of Congress. This will be the 27th annual summit hosted by Americans for the Arts and the Congressional Arts Caucus with over 85 Arts Advocacy Day Co-Sponsors, and 450 arts advocates from around the country.

“We are so glad to welcome these advocates to Washington because we all know that supporting federal investment in the arts not only enriches our nation’s culture, but our nation’s economy,” Representatives Slaughter and Lance said.

For photos of the event, click here.

According to the NEA, for every one dollar the United States spends on federal arts initiatives, nine non-federal dollars are leveraged, generating roughly $600 million in matching support. Each year, the nonprofit arts industry generates $135.2 billion in economic activity, and provides 4.13 million full-time jobs. At the same time, this industry returns $9.59 billion to the federal government in income taxes, a significant return on investment for the taxpayers.

Representatives Slaughter and Lance are currently leading an appropriations request effort to fund the National Endowment for the Arts at $154.466 million in FY 2015.

See event details below:

Congressional Arts Kick Off Breakfast 8:30am to 10:00am, March 25, Cannon Caucus Room. The Kickoff is the signature event of our AAD conference, during which Americans for the Arts bring together entertainment, arts, education, and policy leaders on Capitol Hill to reinforce the importance of maintaining critical federally-funded arts programs that help fuel our local economies, preserve our heritage, educate students, and aid wounded warriors. Other Kickoff highlights this year included presenting the 2014 Congressional Arts Leadership Awards by Americans for the Arts and The U.S. Conference of Mayors.